Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Merit Badge

There are around 135 Merit Badges that a scout can earn while learning new skills, concepts and behaviors.  Things learned may shape future interests and affect career choices, fields of study, or areas of service.

To earn each Merit Badge, a scout must complete the list of requirements with the guidance of a Merit Badge Counselor.  Once all requirements are met, they will be signed off by the Merit Badge Counselor.  Completed blue cards should be turned in to the scribes.

Merit Badge sessions are offered at Summer Camps, Merit Badge Fairs, and many other locations around Houston.


Court of Honor

Court of Honor (COH) is held three times per year to celebrate the achievements of our scouts on Rank Advancements, Merit Badges, and other special awards.  Families and friends are invited to attend to celebrate with their scouts.

Documentation of all awards to be given must be turned in two to three weeks before the COH presentation.  This allows time for records to be reviewed and validated, awards to be purchased and for the information to be posted in the national BSA database.

Although those who achieve Eagle Rank will be recognized at Troop COH, they also have a separate special Court of Honor ceremony to recognize this accomplishment.

© 2024 Troop 442 – Sugar Land, TX - Boy Scouts of America | WordPress Admin
© 2024 Troop 442 – Sugar Land, TX - Boy Scouts of America
WordPress Admin